The latest news and updates from Netball New Zealand

2020 National Umpire Squad announced

This year’s National Umpire Squad has been announced, including two new umpires who have made the squad for the first time.

Marlissa Howard and Michelle Stagg are among the 14-strong squad which will umpire at top level netball events this season.

“We’re really excited with the depth in our squad. The blend of internationally recognised Umpires and those who are developing their craft is exciting,” said National Technical Officials Manager Garratt Williamson.

“The culture in our team is strong and we can’t wait to get started in the ANZ Premiership and Beko Netball League.”

In addition to the National Umpire Squad, three Umpire Coaches and four Umpire Selectors have also been named.

The ANZ Premiership begins on Sunday 15 March with the Beko Netball League following a week later from 21 March.


Angela Armstrong-Lush
Josh Bowring
Myron Elkington
Gracey Farquharson
Gareth Fowler
Ann Hay
Marlissa Howard*
Jess Lea
Sasha McLeod
Ken Metekingi
Zak Middleton
Cory Nicholls
Kristie Simpson
Michelle Stagg*

* Named to the squad for the first time in 2020.

Umpire Coaches
Fay Meiklejohn
David Pala’amo
Jan Teesdale

Umpire Selectors
Colleen Bond
Pam Clayton
Kirsten Lloyd
Sheena Tyrrell