The latest news and updates from Netball New Zealand

New Zealand Under 21 team announced

New Zealand Under 21 head coach Yvette McCausland-Durie has named a team of 12 players for 2021.

McCausland-Durie said the Emerging Talent Selection panel, which included Adrienne Morrin, Robin Manihera and Nicki Patterson, were excited about the performances of age-group players across the ANZ Premiership and the National Netball League (NNL).

“In these uncertain times, we as a group were really pleased to get a full round of NNL and the Premiership viewing under our belt to enable us to have full confidence in selecting this team. The New Zealand Under 21 team is an integral part of an emerging player’s pathway and we’re looking forward to seeing what this group can achieve.”

She said selections related directly to player performances throughout last year and the 2021 season and their ongoing work to achieve the fitness standard.

The team was balanced with four shooters, four midcourters and four defenders but McCausland-Durie said there was plenty of room for movement.

“At both the shooting and defensive ends we have selected players who can slide into the middies to add variation as needed,” she said.

NNZ also confirmed the management team to work alongside McCausland-Durie with Northern Mystics coach Helene Wilson as assistant coach, Jill Clapcott as manager, Corina Ngatuere as physiotherapist and Jade Shaw as analyst.

New Zealand U21 team (player and Zone)

Danielle Binks (Northern)
Tayla Earle (captain), (Northern)
Georgie Edgecombe (Waikato-BOP)
Hannah Glen (Mainland)
Vika Koloto (Northern)
Parris Mason (Central)
Caitlyn O’Sullivan (Central)
Renee Savai’inaea (South)
Lisa Putt (Northern)
Greer Sinclair (Northern)
Katie Te Ao (Waikato-BOP)
Braxton Te Riini (Northern)